top of page
Search

As you were

A mixture of unpredictable fixtures, and the confirmation of double gameweeks in GW24, 25 and the suspected prospect of more in 26 and 27, have left me in a quandary over what to do with my team this week.

And so I’ve decided that this is simply a week to get through, and arm myself with an additional transfer for the upcoming game weeks, allowing myself and arming myself with an extra weeks worth of information and form when planning.


Even without a transfer, there was still a lot to consider. As mad as it might seem to consider playing a goalie who let 9 in last time out, I expect a reaction from Southampton, as they did after being beaten 9-0 last season, and again when Spurs trounced them earlier this season.


Emi Martinez has been a mainstay in my team, but Villas defence is seemingly getting leakier and have conceded the second highest number of shots over the last 6 game weeks (contributing to plenty of save points currently for Martinez).

The only things that led me to keep Martinez in my side were remembering:

1. How Villa destroyed Arsenal at the Emirates earlier in the season

and

2. Southampton have no defenders left to field!

 

In terms of Defenders, I’ve seen a lot of Twitter folk benching one of their Man City defenders , but I trust their defensive abilities more than Spurs and Everton at the minute, even if they are playing against Liverpool.

 

My midfield picks itself. I want all 5 playing, although the jury was out on Salah after recent performances, but I can’t bring myself to bench him, no matter what his form, and fixture suggests.

 

So with 3 defenders picked, and all 5 midfielders selected in my starting 11, I’ve had to choose two out of three forwards.

Dominic Calvert-Lewin showed glimpses of getting back to form in the week vs Leeds, but misses out due to the fixtures of my other two.

Callum Wilson takes on the depleted Southampton defence, and I’m backing him to add to his 2 goals and 2 assists in his last 6 games.


And my captains Armband is handed to Patrick Bamford, at home to Palace. Bamford was excellent against Leicester last weekend, and is a threat in the air (9 headed chances in his last 6 games) which could coincide nicely with Palace’s tendancy to concede headed chances (given up the 2nd most headed chances in their last 6 with 17.... only outdone by Fulham with 20 - which I’m hoping will be good news for Soucek!).

This will give me 2 transfers into GW24.


Current plans are to target Burnley defence with a transfer next week, before looking to bring in Raphinha and Danny Ings for GW25... however these plans could change when we know the situation for GW26 which has the potential to be one to target for a bench boost




jdjdj

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page