top of page
Search

He's Brazilian...


It is with a heavy heart that I write this article.


As I told Eric the news last night, and then showed him it was confirmed this morning, you could see him get emotional. I have been too.


I've known from the first glimpse of him in a Coventry shirt, that Gustavo Hamer was destined for the Premier League, but throughout the 21/22 season I naively let myself begin to imagine it would be with my beloved Sky Blues, and if it wasn't for an ankle injury meaning an early ending to his game at Wembley, I'm pretty certain it would've been.


Gus was a delight to watch. He was a cult hero before we even saw him play. A highly rated £1m signing (first time we'd spent that sort of money since buying Freddie Eastwood) with dual citizenship of two of the sexiest nations in world football. Brazil and their samba style football, and the Netherlands with their total football approach.


And then we saw him play.


I fell in love instantly. The way he snaps into a tackle, the first touch, the raking cross-field passes, the bulldog like stature, and the way he carries the ball. Gus was always destined for a top league.


With him joining in the summer of 2020, there were many times in his first season, which was played at St Andrews, and behind closed doors, that I thought I'd never get to see him play live. I expected him to move earlier (I've done preparation for one of these posts every transfer window he's been at the club). But I got two years of watching him and plenty of memories.


The goal at Wembley was when it all peaked. The finish, the noise, the belief. It was all there.





Upon Completion of his move yesterday to Sheffield United, Gustavo instantly comes into my FPL thinking for the season.


Hamer is an all-action midfielder, ferocious in the tackle, and always willing to take the ball even when under pressure, trusting his excellent technique. The Brazilian born midfielder has an audacious range of passing, and always looks to progress play and create opportunities





His prowess from set-pieces will make him an intriguing option (especially as I imagine he will come in at £4.5m / £5m) , allowing him to reach double figures in assists in both of his last 2 season for Coventry.


Hamer also likes to try the extraordinary from time to time, having hit the woodwork several times this season direct from a corner, One of these will go in one day, and a rueful smile will come across mine, and many other Coventry City fans faces.


Along with his creative potential, Hamer scored 11 goals in his last season in sky blue, with many of them being critical in dragging the club to the play offs.


It's easy to see why Sheffield United have signed him. Hamer has long been a darling of such approaches, his mix of combative and creative play gives you everything you'd want from a box-to-box midfielder.




For those not familiar with Hamer, you probably wonder how the player I'm describing will be in the budget midfielder range, but there is a serious concern with Gustavo... his discipline.


With 32 bookings and 3 red cards in his time at Coventry. Hamer misses a lot of time through suspension, and if that continues, he will also cost you several points as referee's continue to take his name. However, after 2 reds in short succession at the start of last season, this improved, no-end. If he can continue that he will be a snip at the price.


There's no doubt for me that he's worth the gamble. Gus is one of the most fun footballers I've watched regularly for a long time, and whilst I'm gutted that won't be able to watch him for my club any more, I'll want him in my FPL team to keep some sort of attachment to him.


For one last time....


He's Brazillian

He only cost a million

And We think he's fucking brilliant.

GUSTAVO


Thanks for the memories Gus

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page