top of page
Search

GW 9: Kane and Able

The biggest story of the day is that I've been fortunate enough to win the Sky Sports #FootballFandom21 competition.



But there's a deadline tonight, and I'll be honest, this season hasn't felt right without having Harry Kane in my team. Although I'd be much worse off if I had have picked him, there's something comforting about having the hitman back in my FPL Side.




The move to get Kane has been on my mind for a few weeks. but until Lukaku's unfortunate injury in midweek, I was never going to remove the Belgian ahead of their upcoming fixture run.


It was the North London Derby which first caught my eye. Despite Spurs being outclassed, Kane led all players in terms of shots, and has continued this trend, with only Ronaldo matching the number of shots Kane has taken over the last three gameweeks (15).


Comparing Kane's per appearance stats for the periods of GW1-5 vs GW 6-8, and there are definitely signs of Kane's threat beginning to increase, as per the Fantasy Football Scout Members area.





Kane also has an excellent record against West Ham.





With Bukayo Saka also an injury doubt, I did consider taking a 4 point hit, and when I made my transfers last night, I had exactly enough cash to bring in Kai Havertz and Jamie Vardy, and I must admit, I was very tempted.


Havertz is likely to play as a number 9 with both Lukaku and Timo Werner injured, and has Norwich, Newcastle and Burnley in his next three fixtures, which suggests he could be amongst the goals, especially if both strikers are injured and miss all of those games.


Jamie Vardy has started the season on fire, and is joint top scorer in the league, but I still haven't forgiven him for last season, when I opted for him over Iheanacho. I know that's no reason to not go for him again this year, but I'm petty, and clearly hold a grudge!


Part of the reasoning too, is that there are so many hits going round in the community, therefore I think if I can avoid a hit, then I could see a decent rank rise before a ball is kicked.


Add in Mikel Arteta's comments suggesting Saka could fact a fitness test for Villa tonight, it suggests he won't be out too long, and I would want him back in my team.


There is also the team structure to consider, and bringing in Kane means I can go anywhere in terms of strikers in a single move, if he doesn't work out, rather than having to rejuggle funds at a later date if I'd have gone for Vardy and then wanted to upgrade to Kane/Lukaku/Ronaldo etc.


In terms of my team this week, I'm having to go for 5 at the back again, and whilst I'm not expecting it to be as successful as last season, I feel it's the best way to set my squad up to maximise returns this weekend.


Salah a no brainier as captain with the form he’s in.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page