top of page
Search

GW12: 5-a-side

The international break came at a strange time for me. In terms of FPL, with 4 consecutive red arrows, I didn’t want it to come around. On a personal level though, with things ramping up with work, and a poorly 5 year old, it came at an ideal time.

Before the break, Ryan from football chatbox scored 24 points to take 10th place in the current standings.


For Gameweek12 we welcome a special guest to the five-a-side challenge, as my dad picks his 5 players he sees scoring the most this gameweek.



Fresh off a top 100k finish last year, I always consider myself to have had a decent season if I beat him, and whilst he’s not had the greatest starts to the season so far, its safe to say that I won’t be resting on my laurels with him 30 points behind me currently.

My dad was the person that got me into football, taking me to Highfield rd in the early 90s and introduced me to fantasy football as a kid and we still go to games together as season ticket holders at the Coventry Building Society Arena, and talk about FPL over a few beers before the games.

You can follow Steve on Twitter here.


For his Selections, Steve has gone for two double ups, targeting the Manchester Cit defence, and Liverpool’s midfield.

GK - Ederson


With Everton being the joint lowest scorers over the last four gameweeks with only 3 goals, it’s hard to see them scoring against the impressive City defence, and with KDB out with Covid, could we finally see Ederson granted penalty duties as has fleetingly been mentioned in the past.

Def - Joao Cancelo


Cancelo is top of all defenders in terms of attempts on goal this season, and successful passes in the final third suggesting attacking returns are likely. Add in the stats about Everton’s defence above and it could be a bumper day for the Portuguese full-back.

Mid - Mo Salah


With 6 goals in 8 league appearances vs Arsenal, and his impressive record this season, Salah is an easy choice.

Mid - Diogo Jota


Teaming up with Salah, Jota is likely to provide an out of position option as he is expected to lead the line against Arsenal with Bobby Firmino injured.

FWD - Cristiano Ronaldo


Watford have conceded as many goals as Manchester United have in home games this season. Normally that would be a good thing, but this season, they’re joint for the second most conceded with 11. Ronaldo vs a leaky defence is always a good choice



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page