top of page
Search

GW27: A risk worth taking?

After what Can only be described as a dismal bench boost (4 points!), and falling victim to Pep roulette, I suffered my first red arrow in 4 weeks.




With this in mind, along with the gameweek 29 planning, I’ve taken what a few weeks ago would’ve seemed an unthinkable risk.


I’ve sold Bruno Fernandes.

Fernandes has struggled against the “big 6” this season with just 1 goal (a penalty vs Spurs) from 71 shots.


The way Solksjaer sets United up in these games doesn’t seem to bring out the best in Fernandes in these games, with the focus on defensive solidity rather than attacking the game.

Couple that with Man City’s impressive defence, and it hardly looks like a game to be confident of Bruno hauling in.

Add in the fixture next week against an impressive West Ham side and again it’s not an ideal fixture.

Of course this is a massive risk. Bruno is an FPL superstar, capable of getting a mega haul against anyone, and with his effective ownership, if he does haul, a second consecutive red arrow is all but guaranteed.

So whilst there is an element of throwing good money after bad, and potentially compounding the misery of last week, I also believe the move I’m making has the potential to come off for the next three game weeks before I go back to my wildcard (when Bruno is likely to come back in).


To replace the United talisman, I've gone for quite a differential in Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang. Owned by just 7.5% of teams currently, it's been quite a fall in terms of ownership since the start of the season, when he was considered a must-have by a lot of the FPL community.


There's not much reasoning behind bringing him in other than it being a 3 week gamble, him historically being a good FPL asset and Burnley looking poor last week against Spurs.


Captains armband this week falls on Raheem Sterling. After a rest last week I feel he's got a good chance of at least featuring in both games this week, and therefore maximises his potential to bring back some returns for me.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page