top of page
Search

GW30: All in


We’re into the final stretch of the season folks, and I’m playing my final hand, having activated my wildcard chip on Thursday evening.

Originally I’d planned to use it to help navigate the blanks in 33, but then I thought I want to give myself as much time as possible for the wildcard to be effective and decides this week was best for me, in an attempt to boost my OR.

Theres a few risks in my team, and whilst I’m not trying differentials just for the sake of it, I’ve got a few that aren’t particularly well owned where I hope to be ahead of the curve and they can start to rack up some points.

Looking at my team there are two standout talking points.

No Man City players


Despite them clearly being the best team in the league, I can see there being lots of rotation as City embark on a busy period including all 4 competitions they’re fighting for this season.

The below graphic was shown on, what has become one of my favourite shows/podcasts, FPL Black Box, this week and highlights the potential rotation threat amongst Man City assets.



With their position in the league virtually sealed up, I expect Guardiola to rotate around key fixtures in other competitions as he looks to secure an unprecedented quadruple.

Triple Chelsea Defence


This feels like an ultra “boom or bust” move. One goal against Tuchel’s men could pretty much wipe out my whole defensive line up, but if they continue with their impressive defensive stats as shown by @FFScout_Community on Twitter this week




The squad


My first of three Chelsea defenders comes in the shape of Edouard Mendy in goal, replacing Emi Martinez. Martinez has been superb for me, but I’ve thought for a while that Villa are regressing (this may change with Jack Grealish returning) and I see Mendy as an option that can outperform him for the rest of the season. With an ownership of less than 10% currently, he could prove to be an effective differential over the upcoming weeks.

My backup keeper is Jason Steele, for no other reason than him costing just £3.9m and me wanting cash for elsewhere.

My Chelsea triple up is completed with Antonio Rudiger and Cesar Azpilicueta. Whilst there has been plenty of chat about Marcus Alonso on Twitter this week, I’ve gone for two who I think are more likely to play most weeks, and whilst they might not offer the attacking potential of Alonso, I’m hoping the more game time will see them bringing in points most week for me.

Edit. The Chelsea team has just been announced and Rudiger is on the bench 🙈


Luke Shaw remains in my team, his attacking potential, and United having a fairly solid defence means he was never going nowhere, and he’s joined by fellow England international Connor Coady. Coady benefits from some tasty looking fixtures over the next few weeks for a Wolves team which has only conced 9 goals in their last 10 games (4 of those goals came in the one game vs Man City).

my 5th defender is Brighton giant Dan Burn. Whilst he’s likely to sit on my bench for the season there may be the odd game where I bring him in as a cheap option in a decent Brighton defence.

In midfield two players remain from before. Raphinha and Jesse Lingard. Both have performed excellently recently, and deserve to continue in my squad, even if Raphinha’s fixtures turn after facing Sheffield United this week

Of my three new midfielders, the first name needs no introduction. Bruno Fernandes. I was wrong to ever take him out.

My other two are also returning faces. Heung Min Son and James Maddison.

Son comes in ahead of a fixture at Newcastle which looks favourable for him. Newcastle defence has been vulnerable to attacks down their right hand side, where Son will be attacking. Spurs also have the double game week in 32 (ahead of a blank in 33) Which gives Son a potential for a bumper gameweek.

Maddison meanwhile comes back to fitness just as Leicester take on a lot of teams in the bottom half. With them likely to sit back against the Foxes, Maddison’s creativity will be key to them, and he will need to impress if he’s to have any chance of going to the Euros in the summer. You’ll know by now that I love the kid, and think he should be in the side, but it doesn’t appear the Gareth Southgate agrees.

Up front. My three remain the same for this week. Kane, Calvert-Lewin and Bamford.

I‘be given Bamford a stay of execution for the fixture vs Sheffield United this week, and have saved the cash to replace him with Jamie Vardy next week to target those fixtures that Leicester have. With Maddison returning, I feel Vardy will be back to top form, as we’ve seen countless times how they link up well together.








7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page