top of page
Search

GW34: Arresting the Slump


There's no hiding the fact, the last 4 game weeks have been terrible for me. I've gone from the brink of the top 100k, to over 200k in that time, and it culminated in my second FH of the season which cost me points.


With both Free Hits that I've played, I'd have been better off walking away and leaving my team for a week. My first Free Hit, was 5 points worse than if I'd left my team, but this time it was 15 points worse off.


Those deficits, and the fact that I took a hit after my first, and again likely to this week mean I'd have been better off my 28 points over the season, which would have me 5th in the Shake n Bake Mini League, and about 60k better off in the Overall Rankings, so it's fair to say I'm kicking myself at those moves.


Because of my recent run of form, my head is quite scrambled as to what to do for GW34. The majority of the community seems to be heading towards Chelsea, and I was too. I was set on replacing Matt Doherty and Christian Eriksen with Emerson Royal and Mason Mount. I had the exact cash to do the moves earlier in the week, but Doherty's price has dropped, and Mount's has risen meaning that I'm now priced out of those moves.


And watching Chelsea on Wednesday, I'm concerned about tripling up on them. I've mentioned I've had concerns over them since the Abaramovich sanctions etc. and the performance against Arsenal did nothing to ease them, but they double in 34 and 36, and have the best looking fixtures until the end of the season, so I'm going to have to go with them and likely captain one.


The Options


There seem to be a variety of names being mentioned amongst the twitter community. Popular moves include bringing in one, or a combination, of Marcos Alonso, Mason Mount, Kai Havertz and Timo Werner.


Of these, Alonso is a no go for me, as I already have two Chelsea defenders in Thiago Silva and Reece James (theres plenty of worries involving these two as well - with James playing at lot at centre back recently, it diminishes his attacking threat considerably, and add more competition for minutes there meaning Silva may miss out a bit more - although this is negated my Antoni Rudigers current injury).


Timo Werner is also a no go, my team structure doesn't fit for him, and I've mentioned previously, hes not a player thats ever impressed me when watching him, so despite his recent upturn in fortunes, I'm avoiding.


And so it comes down to Havertz and Mount. Theres plenty of twitter threads/podcasts/articles already comparing the two so I won't go into much detail, but it shocked me how much Havertz's underlying stats have outperformed Mount in the last 6 gameweeks in terms of goalthreat, and so whilst I was originally set on getting Mount into my team, I'm now strongly leaning towards the German.



Stats from Playmaker App



With that, and my current form in mind, it may be worth going for Mount. As @FPLMode sums up how this season seems to have gone perfectly:



Fingers crossed we're all on the right side of this one!



In other moves, I need to replace the ionjured Matt Doherty, and to bring Havertz in, I need to raise some cash. I'm likely to want to play 4-5-1 for the rest of the season, and so I'm replacing Doherty with Brandon Williams, to free up as much cash as possible, hoping he's not relied upon to come off the bench in the last 5 gameweeks of the season.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page