top of page
Search

Rage against the Machine


Whilst making a "rage transfer", the morning after a gameweek ends is usually a big no no, and I will admit, as soon as I hit the "Confirm" button, it was twitchy bum-time, but with the deadline tomorrow, there's limited time for the move to come back and bite me.


With yet another blank from Harry Kane, I decided it was time to admit defeat and for me to do what Daniel Levy refused to do so in the summer, and sell him.


There have been signs of a recovery from Kane, over the last 4 game weeks both his xG/90 and xA/90 have doubled compared to the first 10 games, and he definitely looks more engaged under Antonio Conte. He also has Norwich next up.


A player, who's form is improving, against the team in 19th in the league. And I've sold him? Seems crazy doesn't it? But bear with me, there is logic to my madness

Kane still only has one goal this season (against Newcastle), so for all the improvement in his underlying stats, the fantasy output has still been the same. Added to this, there has been a significant improvement from Norwich defensively.


Over the last 4 games, Norwich have only conceded more goals than Wolves, Man City and Kane's Spurs (tidy plug for this article of mine here). and are only averaging one big chance a game conceded. There is surely a bit more to this, with the fixtures Norwich have had recently being more favourable than before, but there has been a definite improvement in their performances, and one which I'm gambling will continue next week.


And so who to replace Kane with?


For me there was only one man. A transfer many have pencilled in ahead of the fixture swing next week anyway, I'm hoping that going early, I may be able to get ahead of the curve, and that Cristiano Ronaldo can take advantage of a Crystal Palace side that are starting to look more iffy by the week.


Palace have failed to keep a clean sheet in their last 3 games, against Burnley, Villa and Leeds (although the Leeds fixture was slightly unlucky, conceding a last-gasp penalty - thanks Raphinha!) as Patrick Vieira hits his first rocky patch as Palace manager, with just 2 victories in their last ten games.


Ronaldo's underlying stats over the season have outperformed Kane too in terms of a goal threat, as per the Playmaker App.





His double last night will only have boosted his appeal, and whilst the strange situation around his substitution did cause a little doubt (again after I'd hit confirm) I'm reasonably satisfied with Ralf Rangnick's comments in this mornings press conference that he will be fine, and that the German has no concerns about fitting him into his style of play.


And then, as I mentioned there are those fixtures.


We know, from the brilliant FPL BlackBox episode, that Ronaldo scored the majority of his goals against the lesser teams, so this fixture run looks tantalising (just ignore everything I said about Norwich's defence earlier!)


This move also seems a bit more fun than my last transfer, and with Ronaldo's ownership currently so low, there is the potential that getting ahead of those that want to bring him in next week will see him as somewhat of a differential for me.


If I was more of a maverick, I would even consider giving him the armband, but Salah's form and ownership means that it stays on him (as it will do, all the way through to him leaving for AFCON). CR7 has the vice captaincy, just in case Salah was to be rested.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page