top of page
Search

The Free Hit zone


For weeks I've been planning to Free Hit in GW32, in order to take advantage of the blank fixtures, and still keeping my Man City/Brighton/Man U assets for their upcoming doubles, but as soon as I clicked the button earlier in the week, I had instant buyers remorse.


I had 7 players with a fixture, and could've got to 9 with a -4 hit and target the doubles in GW34 and beyond, or go for a last whammy of FHGW38, where you could potentially get team leaks for ALL the fixtures, and therefore be in a good place to play a final week wildcard and look to make massive gains.


But I've committed... and that's where the dilemmas have started.


The Standout fixtures this week are clearly Arsenal vs Southampton, and Liverpool vs Nottingham forest... So you want 6 assets from the in form home teams.


I was already on double Arsenal with Bukayo Saka and Oleksandr Zinchenko. Zinchenko is an easy remove. He's injured, and I've been thinking of getting rid anyway. Saka is a tough sale though. We've all seen the numbers that he's declined since Gabriel Jesus has returned, and they haven't hit the heights of earlier in the season. Added to last weeks penalty miss, and Arsenal dropping 4 points in their last two games and there seems to be a cloud hanging over Arsenals Star Boy.


But, after last years Free Hit actually costing me points, I've remained faithful to Saka, in the fear of removing him and him hauling.


The same applies for Ivan Toney. Originally I was tempted to bring Gabriel Jesus or Diogo Jota in in his place, but then listening to FPLSidenet podcast this week, Andrew mentioned a tweet he'd found, pointing out Toney's record of returning then blanking, then returning, then blanking and so on... After blanking last week, he's due a return this week, so continues up front.


One player with a fixture, that i haven't considered removing in the slightest (despite not seeing him in many free hit drafts) is Harry Kane. On the eye test, Newcastle's defence doesn't seem as sturdy as it was earlier in the season, Harry Kane continues to tick along, so he's going nowhere, and nor is Trent Alexander-Arnold after his 9 pointer in his first game back in my squad, and the lovely looking fixture vs Forest.


On the other hand... With concerns over Newcastle's defence, I'm taking a risk and removing the highly owned Kieran Trippier. I went ahead and benched him last week, and it proved to be a wise decision, so hopefully, with a bit of fortune, i can benefit from taking him and his millions of owners on once again.


Other regular squad members, with a fixture departing my team are goalkeepers David Raya and Keylor Navas. Ollie Watkins has been killing my rank as it is, so I'm not prepared to take him on again this week so Raya will take a week off before coming back to be my perma goalie, whilst Navas has been glued to my bench, and takes on a revitalised Liverpool side, at Anfield.



So that left me with a shell of Trent, Saka, Kane and Toney, with the other 11 slots in my squad up for grabs.


Going with Liverpool first, in comes the guy that will most likely be the most popular captain of the GW. Mo Salah. No questions asked, get him in, stick the armband on him, enjoy the potential haul.


My third Liverpool asset has been a tough choice all week. I've had Diogo Jota, Virgil Van Dijk, and Andrew Robertson in and out of my squad. Jota fell by the wayside because of the sheer number of options. Van Dijk was solely in because I couldn't afford Robertson, and it's come down to him or Gakpo.


In the end, despite their recent improvement, I still don't feel comfortable with a double Liverpool defence, and Robertson has looked slightly more defensive following the system changes at Liverpool, so Gakpo is in.


Another no brainer is Ollie Watkins. As mentioned, he's been in the form of his life and killing me every week, so make the most of a free hit, and get him in. Job done. You can't hurt me now Ollie (unless you're EO is over 100%).


With Watkins, Kane and Toney, it's forced me into a 3-4-3. Salah, Gakpo and Saka have taken up 3 of my 4 midfield spots, and Gabriel Martinelli fills the 4th. He's on fire, and another who's been hurting me in recent weeks.


Sadly this meant I could only afford a space on my bench for a real differential that I want to start. Willian. Leeds have been woeful defensvely, especially since the injury to Tyler Adams, and I would like an attacking asset against them, so if one of my front 7 were to miss out I wouldn't be too disappointed.


In goal, I'm trusting my instincts and going for Sam Johnstone (another fairly template pick) as Palace host Everton. Bench fodder in Daniel Iversen (cheap, and should start against a fairly goal-shy Wolves side in case anything happens to Johnstone) makes up the goalkeeper contingent.


So that leaves the defence. Trent and 2 others (with 2 subs). Southampton's attack has been very weak recently, I want a third Arsenal asset and Zinchenko is injured.... So i'm taking a gamble on a low-owned Kieren Tierney. With a weakness for conceding chances down their right flank, I like the Martinelli/Tierney double up attacking them.


I then am still undecided which of my three remaning defenders to play in the third slot.


Do i play it safe with a Wolves defender (Toti and Kilman) if so, which one do i choose? Or do i go for the attacking potential of Alex Moreno at Villa?


I think Brentford are more likely to score (Toney's due a goal remember) so my natural instinct is to go with Toti or Kilman... but Moreno offers so much more going forward, so there's a decision to be made ahead of the deadline later tonight.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page